Wuthering Heights short summary & analysis

Wuthering Heights



Amazon.com Barnes&Noble Books-A-Million ThriftBooks Google.com

Terrible Boring Average Very Good Must-Read
Very Good

Wuthering Heights - Emily Bronte


Wuthering Heights Analysis

Wuthering Heights is the first and last novel of Emily Brontë that was published in 1847. Emily Brontë wrote it one year before her death. She leaves a few poetry books and her only novel, Wuthering Heights from her 30-year short life. At first, Emily Bronte published her first novel with the nick name Elis Belis and after her death, her sister, Charlotte Bronte, rebroadcast it with her real name. Although it gathered many criticisms early time of it, today Wuthering Heights is classics of English language and literature. It is narrating that the love of Catherine Earnshaw and black gipsy child Heatcliff who is brought by her father from Liverpool when she is a child. This long novel is adapted radio, television, movies and theatre for years.

Wuthering Heights Short Summary

The short summary of novel, Wuthering Heights:

Hindley Earnshaw and Catherine Earnshaw is two siblings living in England with their father. Before their father return from his business trip with the black gipsy child, they have a standard life. He has mercy the child when he sees the child in the street and bring the children to his house. Although Hindley never loves Heatcliff, Catherine loves him so much. Also, Mr. Earnshaw has an interesting frailty to Heatcliff.

When Mr. Earnshaw die, he leaves behind Hindley as a useless person and Heatcliff and Catherine who love each other inwardly. One night, while Catherine is talking with her nanny, she says that she loves Heatcliff but she can’t marry with an illiterate person like him and she prefers to marry with Edgar Linton who is living in Thrushcross Grange Domain. Heatcliff is on the edge of garden’s door and hears all of them. As soon as he hears, her starts to run away. When Heatcliff comes back as a well informed and wealthy man after years, Catherine already marries Edgar Linton and she moves to Thrushcross Grange. However, Heatcliff comes back as a cruel and trickster man and his only aim is settling old scores from both families. Thus, he deceives Isabella, sister of Edgar Linton, and marries with her. In addition to this, he persecutes her. Finally, Isabella run away with her son who bear the name of her brother to South.

Heatcliff is living with Hindley in Wuthering Heights for years. After Hindley died, he adopts her son, Hareton, and he bring up him as possible as arrantly. Catherine dies while she is giving birth to her first child. The father, Edgar Linton, names after the little girl who is unusually resembling her mother with her mother’s name. He finds solace in his daughter, Cathy, and he brings up her ideally.

After a few years Catherine died, Isabella dies. Before dying, she calls he brother and she says that she wants him to care for her son. He is unhealthy and niminy piminy boy. However, Heatcliff takes away his son to Wuthering Heights. Edgar keeps his silence because he doesn’t want to a problem come up. The purpose of Heatcliff is entering on an inheritance by matching his son Linton and Catherine after Edgar dies. After Edgar’s death, a painful life is waiting for Catherine in Wuthering Heights.

I leave the rest of the book to you. I hope you like it.


Wuthering Heights Snuff Mathilda The Importance of Being Ernest To Have and Have Not In Dubious Battle The BFG (Big Friendly Giant) The House of Paper The Snows of Kilimanjaro Choke The Education of Little Tree The New Atlantis Me Before You Everything, Everything Out of My Mind The Boy in the Striped Pajamas A Midsummer Night's Dream Bartleby, The Scrivener The Glass Castle Beloved Gulliver's Travels The Old Curiosity Shop Heart of Darkness Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea Martin Eden Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl Life on the Mississippi A Farewell to Arms The Sound and the Fury Annabel Lee The Diaries of Adam and Eve The Prince and the Pauper Othello Brave New World Breakfast at Tiffany's Lord of the Flies The Green Mile Man in the Iron Mask The Fault in Our Stars Frankenstein Silas Marner Man's Search for Meaning Why Nations Fail Planet of the Apes Romeo and Juliet Hard Times The Secret of Letting Go Tuck Everlasting A House at the Bottom of a Lake The Call of the Wild A Christmas Carol Dead Poets Society Macbeth Utopia Hamlet Emma The Idiot Anna Karenina Moby Dick Don Quixote To Kill a Mockingbird The Adventures of Tom Sawyer Dracula Alice's Adventures in Wonderland Crime and Punishment War and Peace The Little Prince My Left Foot Fahrenheit 451 The Old Man and the Sea Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Jonathan Livingston Seagull White Fang The Kite Runner The Count of Monte Cristo Journey to the Centre of the Earth The Three Musketeers Treasure Island David Copperfield The Picture of Dorian Gray The Happy Prince Pride and Prejudice The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde Wuthering Heights Oliver Twist The Art of War Adventures of Huckleberry Finn A Tale of Two Cities Animal Farm The Pearl The Grapes of Wrath Bird Box Little Women Robinson Crusoe The Girl on the Train Jane Eyre The Great Gatsby Fear (Angst) Of Mice and Men